Help Please - interior material sources

Discussion in 'Materials' started by Sherry Corrente, Nov 24, 2020.

1. Sherry Corrente

Sherry Corrente New Member

So I have been bugging my husband for a project boat because I wanted to re-create a houseboat into a family boat-tel at the lake. He delivered. I am an interior designer. He owns a construction business. How hard could it be?!?

Well, it turns out hard! I totally cannot use the same materials I use on houses on land, but I do want smooth walls, and sheetrock is a bad idea. I am not sure where to source materials such as wall panels and ceiling materials. We are using a vinyl flooring for the floors. Since I am a designer, I would love to have paintable materials so that I can make it more "mine" but if they are available in a variety of colors that works too.

I am aware that some people use wood paneling (not my first choice). That is what we have removed. I cannot even find a source for a variety of that to purchase.

Any sources you can provide, even if it doesn't seem like I may want it, would be appreciated. We are gutting the entire boat and it is not the same as gutting a house.

2. Blueknarr

Blueknarr Senior Member

Welcome

Be careful of what you wished for.

I'm from an architectural and industrial painting back ground now doing boat repair.

A ful gut is far worse than a full residential gut. Much worse

1/4 inch marine plywood. If the joints bother you then surface with 6oz fiberglass twill and lot's of epoxy. Add two digits to your interior designer's budget and estimated time.

Do a search for cored composite panels

Rumars likes this.
  3. Rumars

Rumars Senior Member

Most boats use one of three material inside (or a combination), wood (solid or plywood), sandwich panels (glass/foam, carbon/honeycomb), rigid foam PVC (natural or upholstered). Plywood was often formica faced in certain times, or veneered with a more valuable species.