Refurbishing an old Rib

Discussion in 'Materials' started by Steve W, Sep 21, 2014.

1. Steve W

Steve W Senior Member

Ok, I have zero experience with inflatables but i have always had the hots for the Sea Doo Explorer Rib and have just stumbled on one for sale and thought it might make a great mooring runner as well as a fun toy.The only real concern is that these things are all over 15 years old and the tubes are going to be near or past their use by date. So, how long can you extend the lifespan realistically? Can you paint the tubes, is there any type of foam you can fill the tubes with? Ribs have never really made sense to me because with all of the fiberglass components you are really not going to be deflating and rolling them up for storage so there doesn't seem to be any reason to deflate them, particularly ones like the Explorer and ones with center consoles etc so filling the tubes with something does not seem like any disadvantage to me. Yeah theres he added weight issue but the things weigh a ton anyway so its not something I would be taking along with the mothership, it would just stay on the mooring when we are out sailing.
    So, as I see it it would need to be something that will not absorb water, ever. So that rules out the standard A/B foams including the coast guard approved floatation foams so anyone have any ideas or know of a foam made for this purpose. The reason im thinking this way is it seems that eventually leaks occur that become very difficult to repair at which time new tubes are in order and i don't think there are any made for these anymore.

Steve.

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

A RIB that age is likely to leak. You can keep on patching seams to fix it, but it will be an ongoing headache. Tubes can be made for it, but the price may not be worth it. Filling tubes with foam is not a good idea. When you hit something (and you will) the foam will crush and the whole thing will start sagging.

3. Steve W

Steve W Senior Member