Help/Opinions with choosing Design/Designs

Discussion in 'Multihulls' started by DavidAD, Jun 7, 2015.

1. DavidAD

DavidAD Junior Member

Hi, I would like a few opinions or suggestions on a few designs I've been looking at homebuilding. I know, I've taken into account homebuilding over buying used, but if it's necessary I don't mind at all any arguments over that matter. I'm asking because I am in no way a certified naval architect, experienced sailor, or an avid boat builder and I would like to ask their respective opinions as there are many of them on these forums. I'm just a amateur boat builder and sailor who already has in the works an 8ft D5 dinghy to learn on and have already chosen a weekend's/Day sailor. And no this is not a duplicate thread either, I just want opinions on designs and I'm not taking into account the who story/background.

The design list

1. Lerouge Pulsar 26
    2. Shuttleworth Shuttle 28
    3. Lerouge Vik 91
    4. Shuttleworth Shuttle 31 (Both versions a bridgedeck/Open deck
    5. Lerouge Pulsar 33
    6. Lerouge Pulsar 36

Yes, sadly I'm quite indecisive and can't afford to change plans later on. Resale value would be a big part, building cost the other. All of them built Strip/CM, and it would be mostly Caribbean/South Pacific sailing. I'm in the poor range so 15-20K is my absolute max for building the hulls including interior finish with wiring, plumbing and most importantly the sails (rigging and hardware is apart). I would get a quote but I've never had a response from the lofts. Weird but what can I do, everything else I've already managed to sum up the costs, though complete figures would be absolutely welcomed. It's a big size range between designs but I like to keep options somewhat open while I can. I've also already talked with their respective designers but would like a more neutral opinion.