Split the boat

Discussion in 'All Things Boats & Boating' started by Ken, Mar 2, 2004.

1. Ken

Ken Junior Member

I am currently replacing my transom on my 1970 19' mako The transom is completely out. I see, as I suspected, the flotation foam under the deck, seems to be soaked. For that reason and also to put a gas tank under the floor, I would like to take the complete deck assy. off the Hull. I have seen boats that have had it done. I would like to know how hard it is to get them apart. Also I would appreciate any advice on this procedure. I've never done this before so I'm guessing. Also I wonder if the foam would dry out on its own and if so will it be ok to leave or will it get soaked again? Thanks Ken

2. captword

captword Junior Member

Ken sorry to say this ithe foam will not dry out. I dug foam out of one boatand left it laying in the sun for a year and you could still sueeze water out of it. someone may no of a way of drying it but I do not. In what shape is your deck in? that might be the more proper question for me to ask before we take a strategy on removing it.
    Howard

3. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

Ken why do you feel it's necessary to remove the deck? I strongly do not recommend this action for a backyard DIY. The deck will be held on with a few hundred S.S. screws hidden under the aluminum rub rail (with rubber insert) and a slathering of butyl rubber, which will be still goo like after 35 years. This rubber seal can be broken with a hot knife, but considerable force will be needed to get the thing off. I use a 3 ton chain hoist for this type of work and it's rare not to damage the deck, liner or hull.