Help needed with fiberglass for a custom hull

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by NUBoatguy, May 6, 2010.

1. NUBoatguy

NUBoatguy Junior Member

I am a student building a hull that my group designed for a competition we are entering. Approximate dimensions are 16'L x 40"W x 24"D. We had planned to make a plug cover it with a first wall of fiberglass then put in thin balsa ribs filled in with expanding foam then a final level of fiberglass. Like every project we want to keep weight low and cost low.

I am trying to figure out how many layers of glass we need for the first and second layers along with which types cloth and resins will work best. I am leaning towards epoxy for good adhesion to the ribs along with flexible crack resistance.

I talked to a supplier about how much we might need to get the job done but I couldn't tell him how thick we wanted each of the two layers to be. Help and advice on any part of the project is welcome and appreciated.

2. mark775

mark775 Guest

How long is the boat to last and how will it be treated? You said it is "for a race" but also talk of resisting cracks...what type of boat? Does it have to be molded fiberglass?

3. NUBoatguy

NUBoatguy Junior Member

Longevity and care

My hopes is that It will last for a few years. Meaning a month or two of testing along with a few weeks of competition per year. max speeds around 30MPH for short periods along with 2 hours plus at about 15MPH.
    My hopes is that it will be cared for gently but it will be handled by students so some abuse can be expected.

There are no regulation on materials but fiberglass was chosen because it seemed like it would be easier to get the shape we wanted. The hull will resemble something like this

[​IMG]

4. mark775

mark775 Guest

Nice looking boat - What is the power?