Help Needed with Boat Plans

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by Benevolance, May 9, 2008.

1. Benevolance

Benevolance Junior Member

Hello there

After talking about it for 10 years I have decided to build a small multi purpose sailboat...I have even convinced my wife that it is necessary.

We want a boat around 14-16 feet in length...Something that can be rowed in a pinch and powered by a small outboard if needed...But we will use it mainly as a Sail boat...

We live in South Carolina and we go to the beach a fair bit... using the intercoastal water way in sunset beach near North Myrtle Beach.

Looking for something with a lot of room inside as there will often be 3-5 people in the boat for day sailing. And we want to incorporate a tent design for camping with the boat if there are just the 2 of us.

I have some woodworking experience..We are renovating a 90 year old home and we have made wooden windows...And replaced the cabinets and cupboards in the kitchen with ones we made... So we have some basic tools and experience in wood working...I think we can handle making a boat.

Living an hour from Lake Murray (which is massive!) and an hour from the ocean...We would like a stable boat that can be taken out without fear of death and destruction

I am asking for advice... looking for others to offer up pictures or experiences with a boat like I am describing... I have searched around a little on the internet with some boat plans and I have bookmarked a few that are almost what we are looking for.

I know that we will get there and we will find the boat that will be perfect for us...

Thank you in advance

-Peter Ross
    Lake City South Carolina

2. alan white

alan white Senior Member

You might look at Ian Proctor's Wayfarer design. The design iis buildable in plywood, so amateur home building is possible. I found a website with some info, but the plans would, I believe, be from such as WoodenBoat.