Which rudder?

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by Fidippide, Sep 4, 2009.

1. Fidippide

Fidippide New Member

Hi everybody, I studied 6 naca profile with xfoil: 0008, 0010, 0012, 0014, 0016, 0018 at various Re (from 100000 at 1000000). What do you think should be best choice for a fast sailboat? Thanks.

2. daiquiri

daiquiri Engineering and Design

What studies did you preform with Xfoil, in particular and what are the results? And then, the main question - what are the goals you need to obtain? ;)
    Generally speaking, I wouldn't go neither over 12-14% nor below 10% thickness for several reasons:
    - thicker foils have a higher drag at high speeds
    - lift-curve slope decreases as thickness increases above 10-12%
    - maximum lift coefficient decrease both below 12% and above 14% thickness
    - stall angle is maximum in 12%-14% range
    - thin airfoils are prone to the formation of a leading-edge separation bubble
    - thin airfoils are prone to the leading-edge stall.
    So, as a first hint, a NACA 0012 could be a good compromise between all of the above.
    Bear in mind that choosing the airfoil is just a part of the job. The size and the shape of the planform has a huge impact on the final hydrodynamic characteristics of lifting surfaces like rudders and keels.

3. Fidippide

Fidippide New Member

I totally agree with you. Thanks.

4. jehardiman

jehardiman Senior Member

While an approximate 0012 2D shape is going to show an optimum at speed (actually its about 0011), a 0018 shape is a much better choice as the whole reason for a high lift rudder is to control at LOW speed. Almost any shape with a thickness under 20% (including a rectangular block with 5% of the corners knocked off, go check the data) will work at high speed. But a rudder needs to control across the speed range and therefor should have as high an angle of stall as possible. That leads to thicker sections with lower aspects.