Help me make the decision ... twin or single diesel?

Discussion in 'Diesel Engines' started by piperca, Apr 1, 2009.

1. piperca

piperca Junior Member

I am getting close to getting back into my boat project, since my home remodel is getting close to completion ... :)

I have a 28' Skipjack Flybridge that I have removed the twin gas engines from and am now considering repowering with diesel(s). My dillema is twins or a single. I am considering either a pair of rebuilt Volvo Penta AQ31P-As (one is actually new) or a single rebuilt Yanmar 6LP. The Volvos are 150 hp each and the Yanmar is 315 hp. Price to install either is not an issue, since it works out close to the same ... couple of thousand more for the single.

Yes, it would be a lot easier to drop twins into the current setup and use the existing outdrives, but I'm looking at maintenance, also.

There's a bunch of transom patching and stringer reconfiguration to take place if I do the single. I'm a carpenter by trade, so that doesn't really scare me too much, I'm just a little burned out with remodeling projects, I guess.

Anyway, given the options, those of you that have experience with this type of work; which way would you go? Why/why not?

I have a terrible time making up my mind, so anything you guys can throw at me would help immensly!

2. El Sea

El Sea Junior Member

FWIW:
    Since I favor the single engine concept, I would go the Yanmar, this would be a good time to get those stringers and transom in shape.

If you were determined to go twin, I would go a pair of smaller Yanmars, I really don't get a true, warm fuzzy feeling when it comes to Volvo's.

Luther Carrier
    Absolute Tank Cleaning
    St Petersburg, Fl

3. piperca

piperca Junior Member

Thanks for the response!