Help in Software development

Discussion in 'Software' started by b1ck0, Mar 2, 2010.

1. b1ck0

b1ck0 Senior Member

Hi, I am a student in Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering. Right now, I am trying to develope an application that calculates the hydrodynamic ( inertial and damping ) forces, that interact with the ship. I have interpolated the curves of Salkaev, and I have successfuly interpolated them to 6-th order polynoms. So far my application is calculating the dimentionless coefficients Lambda ( 22, 33, 24, 44 ) but I have problems in "giving them a dimension" and in integrating them for the lenght of the ship. If anyone can help, please ! :)

I want to appology for my bad English, but it's not my native language.

2. b1ck0

b1ck0 Senior Member

Hi again ... I've developed the application to a state, witch I can calculate added mass and damping coefficient in Heave motion. Please check my results.
    http://88.213.199.107/Ship Dynamics/

3. daiquiri

daiquiri Engineering and Design

4. LyndonJ

LyndonJ Senior Member

What are the curves of Salkaev ? I couldn't find reference to them ?

5. b1ck0

b1ck0 Senior Member

First Haskind has offered an analitical equations for the hydrodynamic forces. After that Salkaev solved the equations and represend the solution in a graphic form. The coefficient that you will get from the graph is dimensionless, after that you have to give it a dimension by multipling it with your ship dimensions. These curves that I upload are only for heave motion ... there are a lot of curves for Roll, Pitch and Pitch-Heave motions, there are curves for damping coefficients too ...

Attached Files:

1 person likes this.
Forum posts represent the experience, opinion, and view of individual users. Boat Design Net does not necessarily endorse nor share the view of each individual post.