KA-series prop geometry

Discussion in 'Props' started by benha, Nov 10, 2016.

1. benha

benha Junior Member

Howdy, folks.

I'm working on a low-budget (ie: don't send me to PropCAD) project that requires me to model a KA propeller (or similar).

The CAD part is easy for me. Or at least it's easy if I do it in SolidWorks - I may try to figure out CAESES free version so I can do some CFD optimization, but that's another question. What I'm struggling with now is translating the dimensional data for the KA-series props into something that makes sense to me.

Attached are two files that presumably tell me everything I need to know to understand this prop design. I'm very new to all this, but I've made good headway.

I pretty well grok everything I need to understand in table 3A, with one exception, which leads to:

Question 1:
    Why are there no values in the Distance of maximum thickness... row for r/R values of 0.7 and above? I believe I need to know where this point is at every r/R section in order to model the prop, no?

Moving on, after a few hours staring at it, I believe I'm starting to understand table 3B. If I'm right, the whole point of this table is to allow me to calculate X-Y values for the curves defining the profile of the blade at each r/R section location.

The percentages values (column headers) allow me to calculate an "X" coordinate value for a point in X-Y space. To do this I would first calculate the blade width at the r/R section as a function of Diameter, Blade Count and Ae/Ao. Then I'd determine an X-coordinate for the max thickness point based on it's percentage distance from the leading edge. And finally I'd add or subtract from that value by the percentages in table 3B to determine for any r/R section where the ordinates are located along the X-axis. (This, by the way, is why I think I need an answer to Question 1. How do I know where I'm working from if I don't have a position of max thickness.)