Adjust dwl

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by Scuff, Nov 4, 2021.

1. Scuff

Scuff Senior Member

I'm building a 27'9" trimaran. The plans were for cold molded wood strip but supported foam/glass. I opted for foam/glass and didn't reduce the frames to compensate for the difference. I also lengthened by 1'. Both of these were with designers approval. The foam glass increased the beam by about 1.5" per side (3/4 stringer and 3/4 foam). I'm guessing there would be some change to the waterline .. is there a way to make an estimate of the change? He lists 3500 lbs.for lwl. I've tried contacting designer but not getting a response. I'm an amateur builder. Thanks.

2. TANSL

TANSL Senior Member

Have you got a body lines plan?. With it, modifying what is necessary, it could be calculated quite accurately, although it would also be necessary to know the total added weight.

DogCavalry likes this.
  3. bajansailor

bajansailor Marine Surveyor

Are you able to get a rough idea from the plans of the wetted surface area of the hull at the design displacement?
    If yes, then you could get a rough estimate for the increase of buoyancy by multiplying this surface area by 1.5 / 12 to give the amount of increased buoyancy in cubic feet.
    Once you have a figure for the increased buoyancy (in cubic feet), then multiply this by 64 to get the increase in the displacement (one cubic foot of seawater weighs approx 64 lbs).
    Re the increase in length of one foot overall, a simplified way of allowing for this would be to then multiply the new displacement above by New length / Old length (yes I know that this is not 100% correct, but it should be close enough for Scuff's purposes).
    If the new length is 27'9", and the old length is 26'9", then the multiplying factor would be 1.037.

Last edited: Nov 4, 2021
    DogCavalry likes this.
  4. fallguy

fallguy Senior Member