help and advice needed on using Gambit and Fluent in AC yacht analysis

Discussion in 'Software' started by D_Mylonas, Mar 8, 2006.

1. D_Mylonas

D_Mylonas Junior Member

Hello, :)

I am a 5th year Naval Architect student at the Universities of Glasgow & Strathclyde, currently doing my MEng Group project. For this project, we have to optimize the design of an America's Cup under the new version of the rules (that we designed ourselves) using the available tools.

My part,at the moment,is focused on the appendages, that is the keel, the bulb and the rudder, and I need to analyse the forces, the resistance and the lift/drag coefficients applied to the appendages through CFD analysis with Gambit and Fluent.

The problem: I can import the designs as IGES files in the Gambit (version 1.3 by the way with some computers on version 2.2.30) and I create a box around say the rudder to create a volume and I define the rudder as a volume, but whatever I try, I cannot mesh it and everytime it comes up with an error message. :mad: :(

The people supposed to help, well, are not really helpful and I'm starting to get desperate. I have access to the tutorials in Gambit from the official website, but I really need some help and thus thought of posting in this forum.

Anyone who's faced a similar case in modelling a yacht or else in Gambit and Fluent will be of great help.

Thank you :)

Dimitris

2. burakreis

burakreis Junior Member

hi dimitris,