Choosing engine size for my boat

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by Rover220123, Oct 25, 2017.

1. Rover220123

Rover220123 Junior Member

Hi all,

I'm a newbie here and hoping someone can shed some light for me. I'm trying to find out the most efficient engine size for a boat i'm having made. I found info on the "recommended maximum power calculation," but is there such thing as a "minimum power calculation"? I want to find an adequate size, but wanna make sure i'm not underpowered.

The boat is a 13' monohull fiberglass.

Thank you.

2. Mr Efficiency

Mr Efficiency Senior Member

More details would help. What is the weight, transom deadrise angle etc, a picture would not hurt either.

3. Rover220123

I don't have the weight yet, the boat is still being crafted. The length is 390cm, transom width 130cm, deadrise is est.9-10degree.

I've included photos of the base mold, and the making of the top mold shape.

Thank you

Attached Files:

4. DCockey

DCockey Senior Member

How fast to you want/need to go?

5. Rover220123

Well, that's the thing. I don't know what the low-high speed should be for this boat Because i've never ridden a boat this size before. I assume that "speed" is relative to the "size" of a boat on how fast it would feel. Similarly that a smaller car would feel like you're going faster compared to when ypu're driving a larger, heavier car.

6. Mr Efficiency

30 HP should be more than enough, based on what you have shown, especially the modest deadrise,

7. Rover220123

Thank you :) that's also what i was wild-guessing.

Forgot to mention, the boat will hold 4 seats. 30hp still enough, right?

8. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

What does the designer recommend? Have you applied the standard LWL/transom beam formula? Really, 4 adults in a 13' boat? I hope you're all quite intimate with each other, as you soon will be on a short boat.

9. Rover220123

Hi PAR,