Tips for first time using balsa core

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by 717innovations, Jan 7, 2014.

1. 717innovations

717innovations Junior Member

I'm currently working on a race car roof that in order to get the rigidity I need I'm going to hafta use a balsa core. I can post pics if needed. The roof is like most cars it's has a 1/2 rib running from front to rear helping gain some rigidity however the customer wanted the middle to be flat the area of the flatness is roughly 3'x4' I have tried foam strips running front to rear in the middle and also an X out if foam strips but they do not seem to stiffen the laminate as much as needed. Another factor I have is weight. They want to keep them in the 6-7 lb range. My current layup is gel, 1.5 mat 1/4x 3/4 foam core strips in and x and 6oz cloth comes in at 7.6lbs and sitting on a table if I pick any corner up it flexes about 6 inches before lifting the rest of the roof. I have no experience with a balsa core. I have 1/4" 2x4 sheets I was planning to cut to size. Could anyone lend advice to how to use them in a layup. I plan to drop to 3/4 mat under the balsa. And 6oz on the other side. I prefer to not have to bag the part to keep cost down but I don't want any issues with the balsa not bonding. Thankyou I'm advance

2. waikikin

waikikin Senior Member

Here's some general info http://www.corematerials.3acomposites.com/fileadmin/pdf/Proper_core_installation_Part_III.pdf

Important to resin prime surfaces, is the balsa plain sheet or contour cut, by the sheet size it sounds contour cut, if you have plain sheet you'll need to bag unless you laminate from each side, if contour cut a core bedding putty is more reliable than pushing into laminate-
    Your X framing sounds as bad as it can get, down the CL or shortest distance across is better. with applied framing/stiffeners a uni cap helps a lot, the deeper = more effective.