Poly vs Vinyl?

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by jim lee, Nov 7, 2010.

1. jim lee

jim lee Senior Member

I've read that "VE is not as easy to work with as poly." Or at least things along those lines. My question is; Why do people say that? I know I'm pretty new at all this, but.. I haven't seen any difference between working with poly vs vinyl ester resins.

What makes one harder to work with than the other?

-jim lee

2. Herman

Herman Senior Member

Personally I do not see a problem in it either. I use and sell both.

I guess it has to do with the more complicated mixing and the use of other curing agents that might be involved, depending on which type of vinylester you use, and whether it is pre-accelerated.

I can imagine that people that use polyester like "bucket of polyester, spoonfull curing agent, 3 rounds with roller for mixing, use it" might feel it is scary to do the pre-acceleration themselves, and use different curing agent than "product X".
    Most of the polyester industry is pretty conservative.

Also most vinylesters do get better after a postcure. The same is true for polyester, but in a lesser extent.

Above is a view from the polyester side of things.

From the epoxy side of things, there is less of a problem, as these people are used to mix and measure, work with different curing agents, etc. Their major concern is the smell. (and I cannot blame them)

3. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

You can't tell the difference. They wet the same cloth or mat at the same speed. Vynilester is more stinky.

4. War Whoop

War Whoop Senior Member

The VE is better to use as it can be tuned to the temperatures and time frame with the accelerator and promoter and there are a number of inhibitors that will allow a lot of room in the time frame for bagging operations.

5. ondarvr

ondarvr Senior Member