Hello everyone, Sea Lark??

Discussion in 'Projects & Proposals' started by Msalvatore47, Oct 26, 2009.

1. Msalvatore47

Msalvatore47 Junior Member

Hello everyone i am brand new to the forum but so far i've already gotten alot of valuable information out of it.

I am a high school student and for a school project i chose to restore a boat.
    first i had to find a boat. well i did and all i know is that it is about 19 feet long, the name on it is sea lark and it is an inboard. it looks like this company is no longer existant so its hard to get info on the boat. it has an old ford 302 in it that i plan on rebuilding or replacing (depending on which is cheaper) and besides that, the floor needs replacing, as does the transom. which will give me a clean slate to build from. i want to make this vessel the ultimate fishing guide boat. as that is what i intend to use it for eventually.

i have a couple questions, for instance.....
    1. given that i am very driven, i'll have some assistance, and i have quite a bit of time on my hands, how long do you think it will take me?
    2. can anyone tell me anything about sealark??

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

They are nice running boats. It is a classic. You can get a remanufactured engine cheaper than you can rebuild it. If you have any problems getting one locally let me know and I can get one shipped to you.

3. Hunter25

Hunter25 Senior Member

I disagree, if you have the tools, ability, the engine doesn't need much machine work, you can rebuild the 302 for less then a grand, using good parts. For about 400 bucks you can do a full up rebuild for the 302, including gaskets, rings, bearings, timing chain and gears, lifters, push rods and a cam. New pistons will be about $120, machine work to hone up the bores etc. and maybe putting a brand new carburetor and ignition on it to make sure it runs nice, will be less then 1000 bucks.

4. Msalvatore47