How convert file from CATIA to Gambit and ANSYS ?

Discussion in 'Software' started by tuanshipland, Aug 30, 2010.

1. tuanshipland

tuanshipland Yacht Designer

Hi all,

My name is Tuan Shipland, I am a Yacht Designer, my major is Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering.

My current project is including CFD (Gambit and Fluent - file.igs) and Structural Analysis (ANSYS - file.model or file.igs). And I design yacht in CATIA.:)

Shall we discuss about experience or knowledge in converting file from CATIA to Gambit and ANSYS?

I have some issues in meshing when I import file from CATIA to Gambit and ANSYS. Many surfaces are too complicated to mesh. Because they have many small edges in 3D model. :confused:

I am waiting for your reply!

Thanks for sharing your knowledge,

Share to development:idea:

Tuan Shipland

2. bearflag

bearflag Inventor/Fabricator

Unless you have some serious processor capability and have the needs for aerospace level accuracy what you need to do is simplify your existing models keeping details where the critical areas are. Any places you can separate out or treat a as simpler system do that. This applies to meshing as well, we all want pretty hi resolution FEM meshes with thousands or hundreds of thousands or millions of cells and to reproduce exactly what we have in a complicated CAM type model but its better to take a step back and try to conceptualize what you actually are trying to accomplish with each model... instead of trying to solve the thousands of individual little things on the boat at the same time.

Sorry to say, but it can sometimes be a lot of work to do this simplification esp if you don't have the parametric files. Catia should allow you to "defeature" your models to the relevant things for your model. Once you get it into ANSYS you don't have the same level of control.

3. tuanshipland

Hi Bearflag,