I'm new to boats and would like to build one.

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by MatthewNTrinh, Apr 23, 2010.

1. MatthewNTrinh

MatthewNTrinh New Member

Summer is coming close this year and I wanted to start on a boat project. I never built boat and have little experience with wood work. I am interested in building a sailboat just to cruise and to fish in. I know that i don't want to build anything greater than 16' feet or anything with a cabin. I would like to build a boat that can hold about 3-4 people. So far i found this boat plan to be very appealing.

http://www.vivierboats.com/html/stock_classic.html

What i'm looking for is some advice for building the first boat. Especially help with choosing a plan. I have quite a few questions and I hope someone can answer them. I am open to other boat plan suggestions and hope i can choose a right boat as the first boat.

First I was wondering about how much would it cost to build a 15' feet sailboat like Ebihen 15/16 in the previous link.

Second, should i build my first boat from boat plan or order a kit? I know that some people mention that building from the plan allows you to learn more while kits save time and it is precise. However, when i looked up the quote for the kit it was about $3,500 U.S. Is that about right for a 15' feet sailboat? I know there will more added on top of the price for additional equipment but how much would building from the plan cost? (instead of buying a kit with precuts.) would building from the plan cost substantially less?

Thanks in Advance. I am excited to build a boat but cost and boat plans are my issues right now.

2. Lurvio

Lurvio Mad scientist

Go fer it. :)

From what I've heard, GlenL plans are easy to follow even for beginners. And they have an active forum for builders.

GlenL boatplans

I've just started my first build but it's a lot different, under 7ft and pedals. :)