Hard v round bilge and leeway

Discussion in 'Multihulls' started by Lachie, Mar 23, 2021.

1. Lachie

Lachie Junior Member

A lot of discussion on the forum has been on the relative merits of hard v round hulls and little reference to sideways motion. I noticed years ago that that the Woods Gypsy , a chine boat, I built seemed to go well to windward, and at the time felt it was due to the inability of the water underneath to flow from leeward to windward due to the turbulence the chine created. I remember discussing this with Richard and at the time he felt the same. I am also aware that I have very little scientific knowledge to say one way or the other. I have just finished a Kohler Duo 480 c which has assymetric hulls, the outsides of which have perpendicular sides and thus a very hard chine. You see this with the Paradox mono and a number of small catamarans. I am wondering whether this very hard chine may be largely contributing to its windward ability or not, thanks.

2. Mr Efficiency

Mr Efficiency Senior Member

It sounds like swings and roundabouts, you get an advantage at certain points of sailing, but lose on others.

3. redreuben

redreuben redreuben

I thought the windward ability of the Kohler hulls was the lift effect of the asymmetry ?

4. Lachie

Lachie Junior Member

Yes but I wonder how much the perpendicular sides of the assymetric hull are preventing leeway. The Paradox also has perpendicular sides and it uses chine runners as well. The Micromegas 5 also had slab sides and no boards or LARs. As I said earlier I have little knowledge in this area, only observations for what that's worth.

5. redreuben

redreuben redreuben