All Electric Jet Drive Discussion

Discussion in 'Jet Drives' started by anthonydimare, Aug 7, 2015.

1. anthonydimare

anthonydimare Junior Member

I'm looking to discuss what would need to go into designing a commercial all electric jet drive craft. I'm new to propulsion, and curious to see what the community hear thinks. I've run the basic physics behind a system like this and it seems feasible.

Things I think would be great to hear opinions on:
    - Brush-less Electric Motor design & sourcing. Doesn't have to be marine specific. Aerospace an automotive seem to be ahead.
    - Impeller optimization strategies. Potentially adjustable pitch? Composites? 3D printed metal for optimized structure design?
    - High performance, lightweight materials, what else besides aluminum & stainless would be applicable?
    - Direct drive to cut efficiency losses in a gearbox. What are the weight implications?
    - Innovative trust vectoring systems ideas.
    - Adjustable nozzles to make micro adjustments in trust.

Other projects like this? I know there's Torqueedo (http://www.torqeedo.com/en/products) But I'm interested in a system a little more beefy. Any unique home builds out there?

I'd be curious to see who else is super interested in a system like this. (I've been obsessed a little obsessed lately :D ).

2. Waverunner Eagl

Waverunner Eagl Junior Member

Epic boats has an electric v-drive boat. You could take a look at what they've done as a jumping off point.

-I'd start with an AC motor
    -here's a pretty cool pump design to look at - http://www.intellijetmarine.com/IntelliJET Development History.htm
    - Why are you limiting fiberglass from the get-go?
    -To know if a direct drive is applicable you'll have to look at the power curve of the motor, and compare that to the impeller you want to run

3. CDK

CDK retired engineer

Unless you are talking about scale models, it is a pretty dumb idea.