ABYC definition of 'small craft'

Discussion in 'Class Societies' started by Alik, Aug 13, 2011.

1. Alik

Alik Senior Member

Trying to find official definition of small craft that is used in ABYC standards. Any recommendations? Is it just pleasure craft <24m, or there is specific reference?

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

3. Ad Hoc

Ad Hoc Naval Architect

Most rules/reg's would state their definitions at the beginning. Does the ABYC not?

4. DCockey

DCockey Senior Member

I don't have a copy of ABYC standards available, but I believe the applicability depends on the particular standard. A summay of the standards and what each is applicable to can be found at http://www.abycinc.org/standards/purpose.cfm

5. Alik

Alik Senior Member

I have CD with their standards and there is no definition, not in the beginning or through search. That's why I am surprised and asking :)

6. DCockey

DCockey Senior Member

I am not an expert on ABYC standards, and probably know just enough to be dangerous. So what follows may be incorrect in places, but perhaps someone more knowledgable than I will correct it.

Here is my understanding about ABYC standards.

ABYC is a private, non-profit association. It is not a classification society. From the ABYC website: The American Boat & Yacht Council, ABYC, was created in 1954 as a non-profit organization to develop safety standards for the design, construction, equipage, repair and maintenance of boats of less than 150 feet. http://www.abycinc.org/

ABYC standards are not a classification rule. Rather they are a collection of individual standards which have been established by the boat building industry in the US and Canada over the years as recommended, good practices for various aspects and equipment of boats.