20 Aluminum Boat Build

Discussion in 'Metal Boat Building' started by Gnohk_Tad, Feb 25, 2018.

1. Gnohk_Tad

Gnohk_Tad Junior Member

Hello All - I am new to this forum and would like some advise or feed back on this build. I pick up the plans from Glen-l. Frames and keel has been assembled and I am creating the template to plate the hull right now. I am using 1/4 inch aluminum for the hull and a bit concerned about being able to bend it into shape. Should I be worried or should I downsize to 3/16 or 1/8.

Attached Files:

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

What do the plans call for?

3. Gnohk_Tad

Gnohk_Tad Junior Member

Plans call for 1/4 or 3/16 , this is my first build so I am a bit nervious about bending the 20 foot aluminum plate into place. What types of tools do i need to bend the two halves together?

4. rwatson

rwatson Senior Member

This clip shows the temporary forms to support the plate while assembling. For large plate sections, you can even do more substantial formwork with 2 x 4 's

5. Gnohk_Tad

Gnohk_Tad Junior Member

do you have any recommendations on how to build the form?

Also how can I calculate the curvature of the boat to build this form?

6. rwatson

rwatson Senior Member

The best way is to cut up MDF ( say 12mm - 16mm)

You should have drawings with the frame dimensions, so a few of the molds can be formed using these dimensions.

The other technique is to make supports that are approximately the right shape, but have 2 x 4s attached to uprights that are fastened with tech screws. Once you have laid the sheet over the supports, you can jack up the "approximated" frames to push the sheet into a fair shape.

Its not so hard to give the frame shape and placement dimensions to a person with a Cad program, and they can draw up the hull shape, and produce a precise set of mold shapes to use. HalfSBBottom.JPG

7. Gnohk_Tad

Gnohk_Tad Junior Member