Ferrocement to strengthen / waterproof inside of steel hull

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Beginner123, Jul 16, 2013.

1. Beginner123

Beginner123 Junior Member

Hi everyone,

Starting of I want to say I'm a complete newbie. Any advice or feedback would be really appreciated.

My question is regarding whether it is possible and how to strength the inside of a steel hull with ferrocement.

First some background info boat:

Recently, I saw an old freshwater sailboat (missing original mast) with a steel flat-bottomed hull for sale. It as originally build in beginning 1900's and converted into a houseboat by adding a wooden hut on top in 1950.

Some specs:
    - Length: 15.85 m
    - Width: 3.30 m
    - Design: Designed for traversing the Dutch big lake called IJsselmeer. Model is called an "IJsselaak" in Dutch.

It is selling for an inexpensive price and, needless to say, needs a lot of repairs. My biggest concern is the hull itself: how much of the steel plates has rusted away? Is this actually safe to travel in? :confused:
    The immediate answer would be to hire a surveyor, but prices are high for a student like me. I've planned a visit on 25 July, so I'll start off with that.

Having said that, I've had a lot of correspondence so far with the current owner and got a pretty detailed picture. So as not to bore any people, I've summarised the important bits below:

Corrosion:
    - there has been some serious corrosion; near the water line there are spots were several millimetres have corroded away
    - rainwater has entered the inside of the hull, causing rust there too (see second image)
    - not having seen the boat yet and given that it's lying in the water, I don't know what the state is of the outside of the hull

Past maintenance / conditions:
    - above the waterline the hull has been regularly tarred