Need help with a Trailerable houseboat

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by CajunTinMan, Sep 8, 2011.

1. CajunTinMan

CajunTinMan Junior Member

I have very little experience with boat building, other than a few small boats just to play around with. What I do have experience with is building campers. I build teardrop campers and have learned to be able to work with little available space and to build them lightweight. I want to build a trailerble houseboat. I am getting close to retirement and am looking for something that my wife and I might be able to spend a week or two at a time on either a protected lake or river. I am retiring on a public servant’s pension, so of course money is no object as long as it doesn’t go over a hundred dollars. Just kidding, but I do need to be frugal. What I have in mind might not work. I was thinking a 32’x8’ hull with a 20’ cabin. It would have an 8’ front two story deck and 4’ aft deck. The cabin would have a vaulted ceiling. I am 6’6 and I was thinking that if I went with a vaulted ceiling I could make my wall 6.5 and do the roof with a 4/12 pitch. I want it to have a fold out bed and a convertible bed/dining table, a micro kitchen ie., stove, small icebox, and a microwave. Pulse a shower and toilet. Basically it would kinda look like a short park model mobile home on the water. I don’t know it would be better on pontoons or a barged style hull. I don’t know if all this would make it to top heavy. The hull either way would be built out of wood and epoxy. Dry wieght W/O hull would be around 4100 to 4600. Please any advice.

2. keysdisease

keysdisease Senior Member

3. FAST FRED

FAST FRED Senior Member

AN old pontoon boat with aluminum pontoons would be a reasonable base, perhaps found with a trailer.

Outboard power would be fine if a 6K cruise would fit your plans.

FAST will cost big bucks under 1 mile per gallon , 20-40 GPH , depending on how fast you wish to go.

FF

4. hoytedow

hoytedow Carbon Based Life Form

5. kenJ