Seeking Assistance

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by Leopluridean, May 21, 2009.

1. Leopluridean

Leopluridean Guest

First of all, hello everyone. I'm new here.

I'm interested in building for myself, a small sail boat.
    Let me make it known upfront, that I am a complete newbie to this.
    I don't know anything about variables in building, such as which hull types provide the best steering, how much weight different shapes displace, buoyancy etc. On top of that, I have never sailed!

Anyway, my goal here is to make a boat that can hold preferably two people.
    I'd prefer to use cheap materials since I'm on an extremely tight budget.

Can anyone help get me started here?

What kind of boat style should I go for, what materials should be used and so forth.

2. alan white

alan white Senior Member

Will you be trailering or car-topping/truck-bedding? Have you ever sailed before? Do you own some tools? Have experience in woodworking? Space to build?
    Narrow your options down by asking yourself those kinds of questions. Once you make those options known here, you'll get plenty of help.
    Welcome to the forum. Always great to see another first time builder arrive.

3. Leopluridean

Leopluridean Guest

Also, I've got a huge array of tools at my disposal. I live on a farm and have more than enough room to build. I've done plenty of woodworking. The only things holding me back are lack of know how and materials. After I know what materials I'll need and what to do with them, I can get started.

I'm looking for something to put in the back of a truck/van or on top. Preferably around 12 feet I guess? Will that be big enough for two?

4. Ike

Ike Senior Member