Sanding out weave of fiberglass

Discussion in 'Materials' started by John Anthony Noble, Mar 2, 2019.

1. John Anthony Noble

John Anthony Noble New Member

I have recently purchased an ip24 boat and it needs a total repaint the problem is the whole outside of the hull has no gel coat and is rough weave fiberglass I obviously want a good smooth finish to enable a good looking paint job but I have no experience working with fiberglass so looking for tips please.

Should I sand out the weave then reduce the grit size until smooth and apply coats of resin to the hull or are there other options ?

I have attached a few photos below.

Regards

John. IMG_5988.jpg IMG_5989.jpg Screen Shot 2019-03-03 at 02.35.06.png IMG_5989.jpg IMG_5989.jpg Screen Shot 2019-03-03 at 02.35.06.png

2. Mr Efficiency

Mr Efficiency Senior Member

Don't sand it, at least initially, you should fill it, probably epoxy based filler that will sand easily, and sticks to just about anything, without dissolving the paint, or depending how rough it is , a high-build epoxy primer (paint) might be enough. Then you can sand with long-boards, and eventually get a surface good enough to paint over. What you paint with, might depend on what that blue stuff is, a two-part Polyurethane might attack it, but ordinary boat paint probably good enough, and will cover what you have, in all probability.

3. JamesG123

JamesG123 Senior Member

You can't "sand out" when you are already down to the glass. All you will do is keep going into it and strands will keep popping out. That boat was either a failed gel coat that someone decided to finish anyway, or someone tried to strip the paint off with chemicals and managed to remove the gelcoat too.

Your only real option is to sand off that blue paint and then spray and sand a bunch of layers of epoxy to get it fair again. A ton of time and expense. Or just leave it ugly as sin as it is. I guess its PO decided on the later. Now its your problem.

4. Mr Efficiency