New project, is my planning sound?

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by groper, Jun 19, 2011.

1. groper

groper Senior Member

Hi, im new to the forum and in the planning stages of building my first boat. Whilst this is my first attempt at a complete boat, i do have extensive experience with fibreglassing and vacuum bagging smaller parts.

I wanted to run my planned process past the more expereinced composite boat builders to validate whether the building process itself could be improved to minimize the labour involved.

So here is an overview of the plan so far, we will go into more detail later, i just want to give you an overall picture at this point;

The boat is a 10m hard chine sport fishing powercat, drawn up professionally by a naval architect, with a small amount of accommodation in the hulls and a center cabin with small galley and saloon area.

The material will most likely be endgrain balsa core with glass laminate and epoxy - i maybe persuaded into using PVC foam core, but its balsa at this stage.

Firstly i plan on laminating both sides of all the hull bulkheads first under a vacuum bagging setup on a large melamine table 24ft x 12ft. Depending on the bulkhead sizes and resin open time, i will bag multiple bulkheads in one "shot". This process will be repeated for many other panels needed throughout the build including full length hull sides, hull bottoms, deck panels etc - the design/engineering of the boat is suited to pre cut DUFLEX panel type construction - ill just be making my own 'panels' so to speak, made up on a flat table mold using a vacuum process.

I will then stand the bulkheads upside down "on station" on a strongback and tape the inside hull panels to the bulkheads, bilges and bottom wingdeck into position leaving outside hull panels off for access into the hulls after faring the bottom sides and turning the whole thing over.