General Speed boat building tech

Discussion in 'Powerboats' started by cwbyup, Jan 22, 2011.

1. cwbyup

cwbyup New Member

Hi all,

I am just wondering if there is any where someone can point me to that can teach about hull design for building speed boats.

I am looking for explanations of things like dual stepped chines, transom set back, lifting foils etc.

I am looking at building a stern drive in the range of 21 to 24ft for river and light harbor use.

In Australia the two closest example would be

Force Boats - http://forceboats.com/F23.htm

or

Connelly Boats - http://www.facebook.com/#!/album.php?aid=12139&id=110540598965964

I have basic fiberglass knowledge but need more info so I start to design my boat.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for your time.

Nick Wright

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

Westlawn has distance learning for Naval Architecture.

3. cwbyup

cwbyup New Member

Thanks for the info but i was hoping I could find books or dvds etc.

Also I'm in australia.

Thanks any way though, any help is good help.

Cheers Nick

4. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

Nick it's years of study, then more of practical experience. You can read a dozen or so texts and get a good feel for what's going on (how's your math skills?), but mostly it's an education in nautical and structural engineering in several disciplines. West Lawn has students around the world.

5. Alik

Alik Senior Member

No, they teach 'boat design', not NA.

6. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

Small craft design is what he's after Alik, which West Lawn will handily offer.

7. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

In the US Westlawn will qualify for the minimum two year technical course as a preliminary for the professional engineer exam. From there you need five years of experience in the field to take the NA exam.

8. Alik

Alik Senior Member