Gaff Rig or Bermuda Rig?

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by nwfoust, Apr 9, 2009.

1. nwfoust

nwfoust New Member

I'm currently building a lumberyard skiff but would like to add a sailing rig. The question is which rig would be best? Its a 14.5' Skiff. Any ideas? I'm new to sailing.

2. ivor Bittle

ivor Bittle Junior Member

I presume that you will sail inland. If so, do not dismiss the gaffe rig too quickly. It found favour on the inland waterways of Great Britain because of the ability to control the twist in the sails and so cope with wind disturbed by upwind obstructions.

You might find my website of interest at www.ivorbittle.co.uk

Ivor Bittle

3. LP

LP Flying Boatman

Explore other rigs.

Don't limit yourself to a Bermudian or Gaff rig. Do a little research into sprit, lug and Gunter rigs. For a small rig, some of these are easily shipped and unshipped and you can have spars that are easily stored within the length of the vessel.

4. Chris Ostlind

Chris Ostlind Previous Member

I know of a couple of efforts to transform the trad gaff rig to a modern form. The gaff, itself, is hoisted on a cleanly designed car on a mast track and can pivot freely as needed. The gaff spar is carbon fiber and the sails are made from modern sailcloth with high modulus fibers aligned with the load paths.

From this setup you get a trad appearing rig with all the benefits of a modern sail and its shaping potential.

When all the testing is complete, it should provide for a really powerful alternative for those looking for a sail rig that can comfortably stradle both styles of thinking.