Keel Design improvements

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by roxlip, May 25, 2009.

1. roxlip

roxlip New Member

Hi,
    I am a student who is conducting research on the dorsal fin designs of dolphins in order to incorporate their designs to boat keel designs . I'm currently mentored by Dr. Frank Fish of West Chester University and have gathered original data from dorsal fin samples. Currently, I'm looking towards the second step of my research and hoping for guidance on the possible paths I can take.

I have taken mainly physical measurements (chord length, maximum thickness, distance between leading-edge and max thickness ) as well as ratios like fineness ratios of the fins at different points along its height. Do you guys what possible modifications could be made to conventional keel designs that would help in helping to make tighter turns (or any other functions)?

Any help would be greatly appreciated, thank you.

2. Ad Hoc

Ad Hoc Naval Architect

roxlip

If you're doing pure research, then once you ahve all your data on dorsal fins, you should be able to perform a parametric study to ascertain if there is a 'trend'. Once that has been done, you can compare against exists designs. Finally after comparing against existing designs, you can then modify existing designs to estimate any changes in performance, owing to previous database research of your parametric study.

Until you have established whether there is a correlation of some parameter that affects performance of the dorsal fin and the dolphins ability to do "what ever your looking at" and a yatch to "making tighter turns", it is pure speculation. You need to establish some factual evidence to see whether it is worth debating further.

However, from memory this type of research has been done before, a friend of mine at uni also did something very similar over 20 years ago. It may be worth seraching for similar first, saves going over 'old ground' and also may assist your own research.

3. roxlip