trawler line plans

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by kcxd, Feb 16, 2016.

1. kcxd

kcxd Junior Member

Hi, Everyone,

I am new to this forum, I amnot sure my request is legal here on this forum, I am not a designer nor a boater.

my eight year old is obssessed with RC boat, partically on trawlers. He asked me build one instead buy him a toy. That's certainly not an easy task for a dad whom got limited engineering background.

I have 3 years experience in wind turbine R & D, I can read 2D drawings and turn into 3Ds in solidworks, basic knowledge in machining, composite material, painting, besides, there's a backup professional, his uncle is a real mechanical
    engineer in automobile/pneumatic/electrical. my intention of this tutoring isn't focused on to please the kido with RC toy but to enlightening him in serious engineering world. It's for real. build from model ship kit isn't an option.the whole thing is about to give him ideas about basic physics, in resistance/thrust, speed, torque, rpm, efficiency, tooling, machining, craftmanship, structure, transimission, water tight, balance of system, cooling, RC communication. FPV etc. It's going to be a long term project.

First thing first. I have practiced some hull making in solidworks from 2D line plan of a tug boat download from a model plan, without detailed dimension, it turns out to be wrinkled hull surface. I can smooth it out but rather than leave it, it's not a trawler anyway.

I am looking for real trawler line plans, hopefully not patented. preferably, L 20m+, B 7m+, Depth molded 4m+, with bulbous bow, center lined propulsion with single propeller and nozzle. I don't need full set of drawings, not plan to make a real boat but enough contour to smooth out the hull, to suit with 1:20 scale model hydrodynamics. drawings on wheel house and deck equipment also welcome.

regards,

Kent

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member