Effect of rising buttocks on planing hull

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Ingolf, Jun 20, 2014.

1. Ingolf

Ingolf Junior Member

Dear Gentlemen,

i am currently working on the design of a 22' center console boat as a self building project - specs below:

LOA: 6.76m
    Beam: 2.4m
    Displacement: 1,45to
    Target cruising speed: 22-25kn
    Outboard powered
    Strip diagonal planking

In order to keep the transom just as far immersed as it is necessary, i decided to go for a variable deadrise - thus having buttocks with an angle of approx 2deg upwards, while the chines are angled down 1deg.

The concept for this kind of hull was inspired by the dutch "Brandaris Barkas" boats, which i just admire for their planing behavior (see video)

http://youtu.be/kbsraKu8OYE

However, i have just seen pictures of the hull - no linesplans, etc...

And in the literature i studied so far, there are partly contradictionary statements to this kind of warped hulls.

I therefore would be thanksful for feedback, whether the hull shown in the linesplan could show similar planing behaviors.

Attached Files:

2. Mr Efficiency

Mr Efficiency Senior Member

Presumably you are using protected waterways, the boat you illustrate would be a menace on the open sea, imo. It would not require much encouragement to broach, with the lack of any skeg. For the sort of speeds you desire, the warped plane is OK, but perhaps a little wet in a chop with the near-plumb bows.

3. Ingolf

Ingolf Junior Member

Well... the boat will most of the time operate in coastal waters and protected waterways between the adriatic islands of Croatia. Skeg and stem will be added, but not drawn in freeship. Some more flare in the bow sections could be taken into consideration for a more dry ride.