Free standing mast on a small boat

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by jelfiser, Dec 8, 2008.

1. jelfiser

jelfiser Senior Member

I'm a Young Designer and i'm working on the structures for a 6 meters cat boat with a free standing mast.
    The mast will be in carbon fiber pultrused

From the RM 30 deg I've calculated an equivalent force on masthead (8m ) that's 110 kg with a safety factor of 1.5.

It cames out that a round section of 6000 kg/cm2 carbon fiber with diameter of 8 cm, thick 5 mm would support the load with no problems. it weigts 15 kg with constant section.

that's a great advantage against aluminium where it comes out a section of 12 cm diameter with a total weight of 48 kg. (!!!)

Anyway i' ve some doubt about the wishbone rig and i'm feared about the load coming from the boom.
    Also i'm evaluating wich kind of carbon fiber would be better if High Strengt, or hig modulus , or intermediate...

I didn't found nothin about taht on literature ... may be someone has got any experience bout that ?

Frank

2. messabout

messabout Senior Member