Free!Ship problem

Discussion in 'Software' started by steve.1326, Oct 24, 2015.

  1. steve.1326
    Joined: Jan 2014
    Posts: 8
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: tennessee

    steve.1326 Junior Member

    I have some how managed to get the base line off of 0. Now its at -1'. How can I get the base line back to 0. The design draft is also incorrect. Is there a way to reset?
     
  2. TANSL
    Joined: Sep 2011
    Posts: 6,149
    Likes: 278, Points: 93, Legacy Rep: 300
    Location: Spain

    TANSL Senior Member

  3. W9GFO
    Joined: Dec 2014
    Posts: 208
    Likes: 16, Points: 18, Legacy Rep: 39
    Location: Olalla, WA

    W9GFO Senior Member

    Should be easy. Transformations - Move.
     
  4. steve.1326
    Joined: Jan 2014
    Posts: 8
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: tennessee

    steve.1326 Junior Member

    I moved the hull but that does not change the base. It's at -1'0.0" and the DWL is at -0' 6.0". The base was at 0'0.0" and the DWL at 0' 6.0"
     
  5. TANSL
    Joined: Sep 2011
    Posts: 6,149
    Likes: 278, Points: 93, Legacy Rep: 300
    Location: Spain

    TANSL Senior Member

    Then, when you move the boat, the base also moves. Is that what happens ?. It's strange. Check if there is a command that pushes the base to the lowest point of the hull, or that says "search for the baseline," or something similar.
     
  6. mick_allen
    Joined: Dec 2005
    Posts: 46
    Likes: 5, Points: 8, Legacy Rep: 59
    Location: vancouver, b.c.

    mick_allen -

    Do you have other layers that have surfaces [even if they are checked off for hydrostatics]? The other layers can even be off to have effect.

    Or is there a surface on any layer somewhere off in the ether hinterland that you do not know off? Turn all the layers on and 'zoom all' - does every thing get very small or disappear? If so, 'select all', deselect what's visible, and 'delete'.

    Or if the image is too complex to seletively delete, make a copy and on the copy, successively delete each layer to find which one is causing problems. [I presume you are using layer capabilities!]. Then hit undo to bring that layer back. Then see what you can do to fix it [a delete or transition] on that specific layer. And then apply what you've learnt to the original drawing.
     

  7. daiquiri
    Joined: May 2004
    Posts: 5,372
    Likes: 246, Points: 73, Legacy Rep: 3380
    Location: Italy (Garda Lake) and Croatia (Istria)

    daiquiri Engineering and Design

    See the attached pic.
     

    Attached Files:

Loading...
Forum posts represent the experience, opinion, and view of individual users. Boat Design Net does not necessarily endorse nor share the view of each individual post.
When making potentially dangerous or financial decisions, always employ and consult appropriate professionals. Your circumstances or experience may be different.