Titanic Lifeboat

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Bob Read, Aug 26, 2014.

1. Bob Read

Bob Read Junior Member

Hi All:
    I am a Titanic researcher. I have some knowledge of ship's boats but I have a question regarding two items in Titanic's 30 ft. main lifeboats. In the image below I have pointed to the two objects in question. These objects are oriented at 90 degrees to each other. They are located at both ends of the boat on opposite sides. Does anyone know what these objects are called and what their function is? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Regards,
    Bob Read[​IMG]

2. jehardiman

jehardiman Senior Member

I think they are for 1 of 3 things; easing the davit falls and tricing lines (but I believe that on TITANIC the falls were worked from the boat deck); setting up the mast rigging; or for the rudder or steering oar (Though in the picture below you can see the oarlock for the steering oar). I'll have a look in Knight's when I get home.

[​IMG]

3. Bob Read

Bob Read Junior Member

Hi
    Thanks for the reply. Two of your options can be safely ruled out. The davit falls were worked from the Boat Deck. There is a dedicated oarlock for the steering oar. I'm not sure if I made it clear but the photo I posted shows one pair of these objects on the starboard bow of the boat. There is a matching pair on the port stern of the same boat. Attached is a photo taken of a recovered boat from SS Nomadic which was a tender for Titanic. You can see the holes through these objects. The mast was stabilized by a metal mast hoop built into one of the thwarts and by two shrouds which were lashed to the gunwale through thole pin sockets. This would seem to leave rigging to the dipping lug sail as one of the possible candidates. There are some other possibilities but I was just wondering if anyone knew straightaway what these were.
    Regards,
    Bob Read[​IMG]

4. SukiSolo

SukiSolo Senior Member