does Fluent solves Ocean Wave too?

Discussion in 'Software' started by gholamghar, Mar 18, 2009.

1. gholamghar

gholamghar New Member

hello
    i want to model and analyze a 2d wave that reaches the beach(which is considered to be like a step as shown below) and breaks.i have all the dimesions such as depth of water or wave profile in the ocean and i should obtain the height and the shape of the wave on the beach(step),but because i am a beginner
    i have following quetions:
    1-i have just access to Fluent software,so is Fluent capable of solving this problem?i have heard that i should use VOF and Fluent has this feature but i don't know that Fluent can solve this problem about waves.
    2-which software is the best for this problem among CFX,Fluent,Flow3d?
    3-if Fluent is capable of solving this problem,how much time approximately is needed for a complete beginner to learn VOF and solve this problem with Fluent and do i need learn UDF writing?

i have attached the wave before reaching to beach and after that:

Attached Files:

2. Ad Hoc

Ad Hoc Naval Architect

If you want to model and analyse the problem, why do you then wish to use a CFD program to solve it for you? Since you're relying on the program to do the analysis...how do you know if the answer is correct?

3. gholamghar

gholamghar New Member

i have the expeimental data and the experimental results,the point is as part of my project i must check that if Fluent(as a CFD software) gives results near and according to my experimental data,but cause i am a beginner in CFD i still don't know if it is possible to solve this problem with Fluent or not.
    i have seen that some projects like breaking of wave on the offshore
    Platform have been solved with Fluent but never seen a wave that breaks in the beach has been solved with Fluent,so i want to know if Fluent can solve this problem for me.

4. Ad Hoc

Ad Hoc Naval Architect