help with boat construction technicals

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by theone007, Apr 22, 2007.

1. theone007

theone007 New Member

please be kind as i am new to this but am in love with the idea of boat building, i havee built a couple of small stich and glue dinghies and i have read a lot of the posts in this forum, i have just been reading the thread in powerboats entitled 6m cat, and have a few similar questions, im looking at making a 22ft longboat/panga similar to a ub580 southwind out of 6mm ply with 9mm ply bulkheads, i have taken a lot of measurements off it but am wondering
    1) what is a good distance for the bulkheads to be apart is a metre fine or to much,
    2) i have read that 6mm ply needs to be supported every 200mm( this comment was made in regard to standing on it so may not count) does this meaan that i would need a stringer or a chine every 200mm or does the ply have enough stiffness on its own?
    3) what thickness should my rear bulkhead that supports my outboard be? is 18 mm with a build up around the outboard area enough or should i go thicker, im planning on using a yamaha 60 enduro for propulsion
    john

2. timgoz

timgoz Senior Member

Theone007,

Can you find plans for the boat you wish to build? There are so many large & small details involved you are really taking on a big task.

Of course it would be much more challenging going it alone.

Welcome to the forum & good fortune with your project.

TGoz

3. raw

raw Senior Member

John,

Your requirements sound very similar to a set of plans I drew up recently for a client. 22ft, 6.7m stitch and glue. Clean and modern looking.

Please pm me (yours was disabled) and I'll get you some more details.

raw

4. theone007

theone007 New Member

i just tried but yours seemed to be disabled as well, i have just fixed mine so you should be able to pm me now, all help muchly appreciated
    john

5. northerncat

northerncat Senior Member