Forced to cut the umbilical..

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by Grommit, Apr 9, 2007.

1. Grommit

Grommit Junior Member

Hello

I need some advise, maybe direction?

I currently live aboard my Gulfstar 43' ketch, I own the boat out write, paid for, and with no unpaid debts, marinas or otherwise. I am also debt-free, owing no bank, or anyone, for anything. My Benz is paid for, my taxes are paid, I have no outstanding debt.

I want to break-free from American society, American ways, I was born here and am 5th generation American, white angelo.....

I'm sick of my job, I'm sick of lieing people. I'm a simple marine mechanic who just wants to live.

I want to cut the ropeand go!

Can't wait!

QUESTION: Can I survive running on my boat?

Can I find happiness on the legal lamb?

I can offer a tremendous help to boat owners with my knowledge...former SAMS surveyor, Yanmar mechanic, a person well knowledged,35 years.

Have no legal record......

I am honest and trustworthy, a good and honest human being...........wanting no gain other than to survive.............

I am desperate and need to find direction...........without a job/income can I survive aboard and how?

2. KnottyBuoyz

KnottyBuoyz Provocateur & Raconteur

Sounds like you got what we're all striving for there Grommit.

I met a fella a few years ago, marine mechanic too, who bought himself a President trawler and he and the wife and two dogs cut all ties and headed south. He planned to work where/when he could to fill the cruising kitty. The wife teleworked as a writer for the Federal Gov't.

From what he was telling me there was no shortage of work for marine mechanics you just have to be careful how you market yourself. Some countries you'll visit have rules about transient workers and permits, visa's etc.

Good luck let us know how you make out.

If I were in your shoes I'd be GONE!

3. marshmat

marshmat Senior Member

A lot of us envy you, Grommit. :)