Pilgrimage/Boondocking Boat

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Penitent, Feb 24, 2020.

1. Penitent

Penitent Junior Member

Hello everyone. My goal is to build or buy a small boat that can be trailered by human power, bicycling or walking, that will enable off grid independent living in the boonies for months at a time between resupplies.

My purpose is religious. The desert fathers, early monastics, and other monks, pilgrims and penitents separate from the world to more authentically live Christ’s call to seek Christian perfection through the evangelical counsels. Because of this, I do not have one particular type of boating in mind. I will simply do, “Whatever works best to enable the religious purpose.” I am new to boating, so a big part of my question is what type of boat/boating that even is.

Please forgive me if my newness causes me to misuse any terminology or unknowingly break community etiquette. I have read a lot of boating basics, but I’m still very new.

My idea is to use a boat the shape of an upside down car carrier, possibly about that size or somewhat bigger. It’s also the same shape as a gear pulk (sled.) I don’t know the boating name for that shape of boat. I think something that small is called a dinghy, but I’m under the impression dinghies have multiple shapes.

Backpacking simply does not haul enough gear for months long independent living, except perhaps in the case of a top expert in bushcraft undergoing a survival challenge, which is not my case.

A truck, van, or liveaboard boat, on the other hand, fairly easily allows months at a time independent living. (Easy by minimalist standards. And I’m a minimalist.) Fairly normal people do it. Not just Survivorman.