Jet drive trolling motor? Has this been done?

Discussion in 'Hydrodynamics and Aerodynamics' started by Maverikk, Jan 4, 2018.

1. Maverikk

Maverikk Junior Member

Okay guys and gals here is an idea and I am looking for honest answers and math not that it is a stupid idea.
    I am a mechanical engineer by day but true passion lies in fishing.
    I have a 25 foot pursuit center console that has a pair of 150s on the back so I really dont want to hang a kicker on the back also. I built a custom Armstrong style bracket for the back and left a tunnel in the base for the idea. I want to install a seadoo style jet drive in the bottom for forward propulsion. steering is not a super big deal because I can use the 2 main screws as a rudder style set up. my question is can I power it with an electric drive on a variable speed dial and can i run it at slow enough rpm to create thrust. Most of the stuff is in 20+ feet and always fresh water. I just really dont want something sticking out the bottom since it is a trailer queen. I am looking for sustained 1.5 to 6 mph in a 8000 lb boat.
    Like I asked has it ever been done? pros and cons and is it even possible. It is only ever in fresh water and I have already got plans on replacing the transom.
    Second question is will I get interference form the electric drive on the fish finder transducer. Noise is not really an issue and the drive would be under the bracket so no tangled fishing lines or other such complications.

Thoughts and honest opinions appreciated

2. Barry

Barry Senior Member

[​IMG]
    OR consider an electric motor mounted on the ventilation plate of one or two of the outboards. A seadoo jet is designed for high speed inlet water velocities. You will get some thrust but the electric current usage might be high for a given amount of thrust at low speeds
    Additionally, you will not need to cut an intake or outlet hole for the jet in the hull.
    Probably a lot cheaper as well
    a

3. Maverikk