Foam, glass, epoxy, resources to learn how to use?

Discussion in 'Materials' started by skyl4rk, Jan 17, 2023.

1. skyl4rk

skyl4rk Junior Member

I would like to learn how to use foam, glass and epoxy to build boats. In the past I have used plywood, glass and epoxy but am interested in the lighter weight and buoyancy of foam. Are there any resources on how to get started with foam from the very basics? I need to make a hatch, and could use that project as something to start with. The kinds of questions I have are total beginner questions: Which foam to use? How thick? Best practices to cover it with glass? How to lay it up on a mold? How to beef up attachment points? When and where is foam a better material than plywood? Looking for a good starting point to learn how to use foam.

2. comfisherman

comfisherman Senior Member

I'm away from my library but ther was a book that is getting a little dated but goes over the ins and outs of foam building.

I did the diy method and bought several types and did some small projects to get a feel for the stuff. It doesn't take long to figure out what you like and don't. I've standardized around h80 weight form in various thicknesses and coosa for stringers, beams and the like. Learned real quick I hate the expanded plastic honeycomb, that coosa will take a camber but man will you earn it.

My supplier was really good with engineering questions, not sure if it's common to give that much help but they have been great. Giving solid guidance on reccoemdations and resources for the various foams I've used.

3. fallguy

fallguy Senior Member

The best way to start building in foam is to build to a specified laminate schedule and not try to create your own.

So, learn to build first and not worry about designing anything which is altogether different.

For a hatch, you need to define the shape and operating parameters. So, say square 24x24 with the ability to walk on...