Mouldless Fibreglassing

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by LostProject, Jun 6, 2011.

1. LostProject

LostProject Junior Member

I'm a Design student and I'm attempting to make a fibreglass whitewater kayak. The only problem is that this will be my first time fibreglassing. AS I'm not trying to recreate the same kayak multiple times I wanted to forgo a mould, and instead lay matting over chicken wire until it hardens and I can remove the wire. Will this mouldless idea work?

Also, I'm a bit worried about the order that I work in. Do I apply the resin, then mats, then resin and repeat?
    What brand of resin should I use?

Thanks so so much.

2. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

Yes, you idea will work, but you'll have a big mess on your hands and one butt ugly, absurdly heavy boat, when it's all said and done.

You want to forgo the mold, but then you want to make a chicken wire mold?

Look, do yourself a big favor and look up one off 'glass building methods. You can build over foam, cardboard, use C-Flex, plywood, solid wood, etc., but your chicken wire idea is literally full of holes.

The advantage of a good mold, building jig or plug is you can get fairly close, if not dead on finishes without back breaking fairing and gallons of filler.

3. rxcomposite

rxcomposite Senior Member

Chicken wire can be used if you apply plaster over it while backing up the inside with a trowel like they do in ferrocement boat.

Or you can wrap the chicken wire in "saran wrap" and lay the glass over it and wet it with resin. But as PAR said, you will still have an ugly, lumpy looking boat.

One trick to reduce the pockmark is to pre wet the glass in another table, then patch it to the mold while it is green (tacky enough to hold its shape but not cured). Lay up the second layer directly to the cured initial layer.

4. LostProject

My original idea was to lay the fibreglass matting over the chicken wire on the outside, so it's not really a mould.