Foam as main building material ?

Discussion in 'Materials' started by andrea, Feb 10, 2004.

1. andrea

andrea Junior Member

Hi there everybody, hope my english is not too bad.
    I am new to this great comunity and kind of excited.
    I am planning to build my own little boat, probably about 20 feet power boat.
    I am considering different materials and foam could be a potential partner.

I was wondering if a boat hull entirely built out of a block of foam could be strong enough or if there is any system to work around that way. :?:

I hope in your competence since i do not have any on this material.

Thanks a lot.

Andrea
    atagli@libero.it

2. Stranger

Stranger Guest

Why would you want a solid foam 20' boat anyway? That's much more foam than you need for flotation, making it very heavy. You still need skins for impact resistance and strength. You still need internal structure for engine/transom motor support.

"Foam" is commonly used to mill a plug with via CNC, but this doesn't make sense for a one-off unless you happen to have use of the equipment for free.

I have seen a site where foam was carved to provide the plug for a fairly simple hull form. I'm not sure how exact the result was.

Why not go with the traditional one-off bulkhead form covered upside down with a foam core and then with fiberglass?

3. andrea

andrea Junior Member

Thanks for replying my message Stranger,
    as i was saying i don't have big experience in fiberglass and foam therefore i may definetely say something inapropriate, that's also way i am confident in this newsgroup to get some information.

It will be much faster for me to build a boat out of foam and maybe also cheaper since i have a 5 axix cnc router available at my shop that we don't usually use for foam.

I don't anything about foam strenght and how to protect it, it's only an idea and maybe wrong. HELP!!!

Thanks a lot
    Andrea

4. lprimina

lprimina Senior Member