Beam Position Fore & Aft

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by FLAMUS, Nov 13, 2014.

1. FLAMUS

FLAMUS New Member

Hello,
    I am a brand new member of BoatDesign.net Forums..I am also a beginner at boat design..
    I am actually trying to design a 8.64 meters LOA / 3 meters Beam
    Planing & all Rounder power boat hull : taking my inspiration from the "Pro-Line" (or "MAKO") Boats style..
    I would be glad to have your advice on : at what Percentage Point,
    Fore & Aft of the LOA, should the Beam ideally be situated ?
    Is 60% Aft From the Bow, a good situation point for the 3 meters wide Beam..? and, is a Transom width of 2.85 meters at its Deck edge, good
    for assuring Planing stability, and providing a wide fishing platform ?

Those were my very first questions..

I am glad to be a member of Boat Design Forum!

Thanks a lot & Regards,

François (FLAMUS).

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

It depends on many factors. For example, are you installing an outboard or a sterndrive? A cuddy cabin will shift weight forward compared to a center console. Width at the deck edge is less important than at the waterline. Take the values as starting points, and see if they work for the design. Proline and Makos have quite different hulls. If you have access to some, take some rough measurements and compare them. Also, having measurements from well performing boats will let you know if your design is outside normal parameters.

3. FLAMUS

FLAMUS New Member

Thank you very much for your feedback, Mr Gonzo : I will try to have access to some similar boat and take some rough measurements...
    I will very probably need, from time to time, valuable advice like yours to help me with my actual design, and, possibly, future designs as well.. Because I am very new and still inexperienced at boat design...
    So, if you are keen to share your experience, and exchange valuable tips concerning boat hull ratios and parameters, with me, I will be very glad and grateful..!