relative motion of two structures in Ansys AQWA

Discussion in 'Software' started by Don_Jan, Nov 17, 2011.

1. Don_Jan

Don_Jan New Member

Hello!
    My name is Jan and I'm a naval architect student from Germany.
    At the moment I have a problem, and maybe anyone out there can help me.
    In my AQWA-scene is one free-floating body, and one body which can only move in z-direction (I damped the others DOF's) next to each other.
    Because I am searching for the relative motion, I want to evaluate stochastically the both RAO's for heave motion. So I take the RAO's from AQWA to Excel, multiply the square with my Jonswap, and I have the response spectra of the movement.
    But the problem is, I have not adjusted the phase-shift which results from the distance of the two structures.
    Does anybody have an idea how to do that in AQWA, or “by hand” in excel?
    I would be very pleased if someone knows the answer.
    Kind regards,
    Jan

2. Ad Hoc

Ad Hoc Naval Architect

Welcome to the forum Jan.

What you are trying to do is rather complex. It is time domain situation that you have. Since whatever distance separates the two floating structures, each shall experience a given RAO. If the 2 structures were placed next to each other, the heave generated by the amplitude of the wave is instantaneous for both. If you now placed the 2 structures 1km apart, clearly the response relative to each other would be different. If the 2 structures experienced the same wave spectrum, but separated by a distance, it is purely the difference in time for each structure to react to the given sea spectrum.

Therefore you need to define your spectrum with respect to time, and use one as the origin of time to ascertain the "lag" in motion and hence the difference in response.