fixing the deck on a 1985 Winner Boat

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by ravej50, Sep 28, 2008.

1. ravej50

ravej50 New Member

Hi all, I just recently received a 1985 winner boat and have been told that it's been sitting outside with no cover for about 2 years. those two years have damaged the floor of the boat and so I decided to replace the floor, seats, cushions, etc. So I've been lurking on this site for a bit now looking at how others were restoring their deck and have gotten a lot of great ideas but am kind of stuck at some places in the boat. (I'm new to boating so I don't have the correct termiology yet so have patience). Anyway, I have a couple of questions:

How does one remove the wood floor easily? is there such a thing? I've spent two days removing it by sawing, prying, hacking but being the lazy bum that I am, isn't there an esaier way? (Probably not but I've been muttering those questions ever since I started pulling the deck.

For the real questions..
    While I was pulling the wood floor, I noticed that I have a beam on the left hand side and right hand side of the boat..what is the beam for and do i have to remove the beam since I noticed some wood flakes coming off from the bottom of it? By the way, the locations for the questions are all highlighted or circled in red.

[​IMG]

Question #3-
    Will I have to remove this too? It looks like it's attached to the console however, this looks like this the only part of the console that looks like its been wet.
    [​IMG]

Question#4-

What is the best way to fix this? The wood looks rotted through however, since it's in the front (bow) of the boat, it provides support to the bow. Would I have to cut and remove and replace?

[​IMG]

[​IMG]