Basic Question -Layin Up

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by tradams52, Apr 24, 2012.

1. tradams52

tradams52 New Member

I am completely new to fiberglassing and I would like to inquire.

I am replacing the floor in a 1955 Flying Scot 19' dinghy. After all the removal of the old floor and its balsa core - I am at a point to start placing back with new products.

I was advised by a friend to use "polyester resin" to build back the layers of balsa core and several layers of "mat" and "roving". This individual indicated that I should use "West Marine - Boater's Resin".

When reading on the product it indicates that it is the "final Coat" resin which contains "wax". I have understood that this will require sanding after each coat of resin has been applied.

Additionally -I understand that "Un-waxed" resin will not require sanding and will remain tacky.

So - my question is - which type of "resin" should I really be using?

Any advice or comments - would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

2. sean-nós

sean-nós Senior Member

Hi tradams52, the wax is called amine blush, I am using west system epoxy with 205 hardener and find if you let each coat set for about 3 hours you can add another one on top and so on without any sanding for the last coat I use 207 hardener it takes a bit longer to set but leaves very little amine blush. If your hardener is leaving a blush try giving it a wash with soapy water before you sand as the blush will just clog up your sandpaper.

3. tradams52

tradams52 New Member

Response to sean-nós

I have researched 'West System' epoxy to determine if it as compatible with polyester resin (the original hull was made with polyester).

At "Evercoat" they furnish lots of technical data on all their resins (on both Epoxy and Polyester) and I read where epoxy on polyester is NOT a good.

I guess what I am trying to find out is "Should I be using polyester 'laminating' resin vs. 'Final' coat resin". ??