T&G Skin

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by FramerDan, Jan 25, 2009.

1. FramerDan

FramerDan Junior Member

I'm just now starting my first "real" boatbuilding project. Aside from my crazy OSB adventures, or my fir stripped galleon.

My designs are for a 21' gaff sloop, 3,100 lb displacement, single chine.

My main question(s) is about skin.

What types of wood are suitable?

Is it worth while to T/G, spline, or otherwise go the extra mile between planks?

Is there a benefit to turning the planking under the chine to a steeper angle of attack to the keel?

I met a man who rebuilt a 1940's cruiser. He used Fir 2x material for his skin, with nothing between, and relying on the wood expanding to seal the hull...I have to admit that frightens me.

My main problem is that, being a carpenter, I am not rich. I was considering red fir, and I like the look of a smooth hull. I'm really just not clear on the benefits or reasoning behind many of the skinning methods I've read about. it seems like a t/g with some kind of sealant applied to each groove would resist leaks much better than most other methods.

Repairing the skin would be harder, I suppose, but realistically on a small boat like that, with a chine, and cheap wood, I wouldn't necessarily mind replacing all the skin when it comes to that.

Any suggestions would come in very handy.

2. alan white

alan white Senior Member

It sounds to me like you're being over-ambitious. You can find out how boats are built by reading boatbuilding books. It's less time-consuming than asking questions like the ones above.
    A boatbuilding glossary would tell you that what you call skinning is planking.
    The method you describe, of using tongue and groove planks, is not going to be a breakthrough boatbuilding method, it's just something that appears to make sense to a house carpenter.