Fisher 46

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by Dan.D, Nov 30, 2005.

1. Dan.D

Dan.D New Member

Greeting gents

I am newly registered with the site and haven't been getting much work done since I started reading. Knowledgeable posts and interesting topics. I am delighted to have found this source of boat design/sailing experience.
    I am a systems/electronics engineer in the employ of the US Navy who has spent 23 years designing small submersible systems for shallow water naval applications. My working years are coming to an end soon and I intend to spend more time on the water during retirement. I have owned an Allied Seawind Ketch for many years and am looking for a larger pilothouse or motorsailer type for extended cruising and live aboard.
    I would much appreciate any opinions/criticism from members with regard to the Fisher 46 for the application I mentioned. I realize that this is a great heavy beamy boat and have read the ideal cruising boat and motorsailer threads. What I most want to get a handle on is whether or not this boat will sail? I have been on board an example of this vessel at the dock. I like the space and the prospect of spending time in the pilothouse reading a book or enjoying the scenery (especially when the weather is wet or cold, I would like to explore the higher latitudes, possibly the inside passage to Alaska) but I also want a boat that will afford me the pleasure and economy of sailing when the wind cooperates. The following specs apply to the Fisher 46:
    Length overall 45ft 8 ins
    Length waterline 40 ft 0 ins
    Beam 15 ft 0 ins
    Draft 6 ft 6 ins
    Displacement 25 tons
    Ballast Weight 10 tons
    auxiliary HP 139
    The boat is double ender and has a large fishing trawler type pilothouse.
    SAIL AREAS
    Main 41.80 sq m 450 sq ft
    Mizzen 12.54 sq m 135 sq ft
    jib 22.30 sq m 375 sq ft