First time boat-builder

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by timplett, Aug 13, 2006.

1. timplett

timplett Junior Member

Hi

I'm completely new at this, so any advice would be helpful.

My plan is to build a small boat, 10' long, roughly 5' beam. It will seat two people, and will have a 40 HP outboard (I can get one cheap) to begin, and possibly somethign larger later if needed. I have a rough design sketched out on paper that I would like to get drawn up and posted for advice at a later time (btw, is there a good free program for that, or should I just use Autocad, which I already have?). My plan was to frame the hull out of steel, probably roughly 3/8" steel rod or something comparable. The plan was to space these framing members every foot along the length of the hull. I will then cover the frame with a (roughly) 1" square chicken wire, or perhaps something a little heavier, to get closer to the actual shape of the boat. The plan is to then apply layers of fiberglass to either side of the chicken wire to form the final hull.

The main purpose of this boat is to be small, relatively easy to build (I'm very good with my hands, can weld, work with wood, etc.), and go fast as possible to be a heck of a lot of fun. What I want to know, is if my build method is good or if I should scrap the idea and do something different. If this method is functional, what kind of fiberglass will I need and how many layers? I am on a fairly tight budget, so I don't have the money to buy Kevlar or carbon, or 50 layers of FG or anything like that. The steel will be free, and engine will be cheap or free, so I would say roughly $250 would be the aim for fiberglass costs, but obviously cheaper is better. For calculation purposes, I think the hull surface are is roughly 5 sq. yds.

Thank you in advance for any help,

TIm Plett

2. timplett

timplett Junior Member

Am I crazy?